Chat Noir

It’s a two-cup day.

I came into the office not even planning to write a blog post about the brilliant Blacksad novels by author Juan Díaz Canales and artist Juanjo Guarnido, but then I had a cup of coffee.

It’s been a while, coffee. I haven’t had you all week. I haven’t felt the mad downhill rush, the exhilirating exuberance of caffeine coursing through my drug-dilated veins in nearly a week now.

You’d have to be in my shoes to see the thought process. One cup down- what the H? What the H do I care. H, I’ll have two F-n cups of coffee. Because it’s D good.

I’m drinking the second one right now. Maybe I’ll have another after this one. Do you know how many cups it takes to kill a man? Like, 54. I’m nowhere near that.

I’ve only been in the office for 45 minutes and I’ve already written a short-story with my right-hand (I’m left handed). I feel efficient. Here comes the blog post.

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_01Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

Blacksad is a terrific series of noir graphic novels, published primarily for a French market. They follow the twisted career of John Blacksad, a cat private eye with a dark past as he unravels mysteries of sinister dimensions.

What do I love about this series? A lot of things. A H of a lot of things.

Blacksad_within shadows_2000_03Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: Within the Shadows, 2000

Blacksad_within shadows_2000_02Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: Within the Shadows, 2000

First off, the animal-women in these books are smokin’, in more ways than one. Like, I mean they’re hot. And I’m not referring to their physical temperature.

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_04Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_02Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

Second off, the lighting is beautifully atmospheric. The characters move through planes of sunlight and shadow, giving credibility to a bygone world that never really existed. The visuals remind me of a good film.

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_03 Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_06Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

Blacksad_A Silent Hell_2012_05Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: A Silent Hell, 2012

And thirdly, the characters- they’re so well executed. These are the best animal-people I’ve ever seen, better even than (dare I say?)… forget it. I can’t even think of any animal-people that rival these.

Mix all of this story goodness in with themes of racism, class conflict, and religion, and you’ve got something that far transcends the realm of funny-animal comics.

Blacksad_arctic nation_2003_01Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: Arctic Nation, 2003

Blacksad_within shadows_2000_01 Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: Within the Shadows, 2000

Blacksad_arctic nation_2003_02Guarnido and Canales, Blacksad: Arctic Nation, 2003

My patience-fuse burns short. To conclude: Blacksad is great, you should pick up some of the books, especially A Silent Hell.

Thanks for reading. Thanks!

Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Chat Noir

  1. excelsizeus

    I will definitely get hold of “A Silent Hell”. I loved the first book as the main character is such a cool cat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

